Filling my Days With Meaning

Recently my life has undergone some drastic life changes, and though I have tried to pretend that nothing has changed, the situation keeps being thrown to the forefront. I am on a different trajectory and my days hold no meaning, and upon talking with a friend, I decided to attempt to be Full Time Mom for the summer months; just before my youngest starts her twelve year school career.

The first couple weeks were a blast. We went to the park every day, I spent time in the sun, I read, I started crocheting again. It was extremely relaxing, just what every working mother needs. Then, the more time passed, the more I started wandering around the house, the neighbourhood, even the city, wondering what to do, when to do it, and for how long. The thing about being a single, unemployed, mother, is yes you may have the freedom to do anything at any time, but then you have the restriction of not being able to afford to do all the fun things you want to do.

With that being said, (and done) it still isn’t enough to help the feelings that continue to bombard me. With all these thoughts swirling around my head, and my need to decrease stress somehow, I started making a plan. I have decided, to put more meaning in my days, I am going to start babysitting. Within days of my decision, I had lined up a number of interviews for children. I am very excited to embark on this path. My Baby is a very friendly, very active little girl, and she has grown up in daycare. I think the continued socialization will be really good for her. I also know, from experience, how difficult it is to find a reasonably priced babysitter for the evenings and/or weekends. Another idea that I had, that also coincides with my own personal goals is dog walking. I have been wanting to increase my physical activity, and while I was working, I was doing a wonderful job doing just that. Then my routine was shot to hell. Dog walking would be a wonderful way to get that physical activeness back in my daily routine AND make some extra cash over the summer.

Then as my brain is swirling these ideas around I have a couple of nagging thoughts that I keep pushing down. Crocheting and Writing. While I now have the time to do just that, those are both long-term goals that will take time to develop. But develop them I shall.

So there are my ideas to put some meaning back into my days. I am very excited to see how they will take off now. I have refound the passion for life that had eluded me during the past few weeks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

