The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

This is one of those book that as soon you finish the last word on the last page you breath a sigh of relief. It is a book that has its moments and you get lost in those moments and then you are about 1/3 done and you realize that you have come too far to turn back now and you need to see this journey through, even though you are having doubts that it will be worth it.

The book itself is very well written. The story line is unique and original and the best part of the book. This book is one of those books that attempt to convey a lifetimes worth of information in a few short chapters, and while Niffenegger did in fact convey everything and did so in a way that you were able to connect with the characters, I am not a fan of storys that seem to spend 6 chapters describing two weeks and then manage to describe the next six years in just two paragraphs.

Now I’m sure that is a slight exaggeration, but I sometimes felt that the story line skipped crucial parts of the characters development due to time and space constraints. There were times I was reading the book and it was almost painful. I was looking at black words on a white page and it would be some time before I was pulled back into the story.

I am very glad that I finished the book, and I do look forward to being able to watching the movie now. (I try to avoid watching a movie before I read the book, if I can.) I can see this story making a beautiful movie, if done properly.

I would probably say this book is 2.5/5; 3/5 at best.

Sneak Peek: I will be picking up a well worn copy of Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. I have watched the movie many times and have previously read the book, but with Walk to Remember popping up for this weeks Random Movie Night I figure this would be a good time to pick it up one more time.

Leave a Reply

