Year of Projects

So this week has been a bit hectic for me. I joined YOP on Tuesday and on Thursday my son had surgery. Thursday was a day of travel, and Friday I spent the entire day waiting on Kid all day, not to mention my Book Club  and Movie Night.  Needless to say, progress has been slow for this week.

I have only 3 goals for this month:

Finish the bobble blanket;

Finish the Crochet Hook Organizer and;

Take part in a swap.

When this month began, I had very little done on my Bobble blanket. Now I am about 1/3 of the way done. It has turned out to be a bit longer than I expected. Even though, I was making it as a Baby Blanket, I wanted to make it a bit larger than a regular baby blanket so that the recipients would get a lot of use out of it. I used a light yellow, a light green, and a white colour using Bernat Baby Sport yarn. In the past week I feel I have mad ea pretty decent dent in the progress. If all goes according to plan, I should be able to finish it by months end.

The next project I hope to complete is a Crochet Hook Organizer. I began making this when I realized that my couch ate my hook and I was unable to continue on my previous project. When I finally found my spare hook, I put the crochet hook organizer on hold. It is a simple (so far) pattern and is pretty quick to work on. I have not worked on it at all this week but here is the progress that I have made thus far, using any scrap yarn I found kicking around.

In total there should be  18 pockets, so I’m about 1/3 done, not including the finishing (which will probably take about as long as the pockets themselves did)

As for my final goal, I have joined a swap and have been assigned a partner. My assignment is to make a granny square with a Tweet Tweet theme. I was able to find an acceptable pattern and began working on it after reviewing my partners profile and determining her favourite colours. I am unsure I like my first attempt, so throughout the month, I will continue practicing granny squares until I feel it is acceptable enough to send off. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Year of Projects

  1. You’re progress on all three of your projects is great. You will be adding to your list soon as you seem to be a fast crocheter. Welcome to the group!

    • thank you for the warm welcome!
      I can be relatively quick, but for me the challenge lies not in speed, but consistency. some days I crochet for hours on end, and then I will not look at my projects for another 2 weeks. 🙂 I am hoping that changes

  2. your bobble blanket is going to look great its so cute. Love the hook holder, such a handy thing. Best of luck with your granny square.

  3. I like your hook case with every slot being a different color. Great use of yarn scraps 🙂 Your bobble blanket is coming along nicely too! And that square for your swap? That’s going to be adorable!

    • I hope so! I have never made a granny square before, so I’m quite nervous as to how it will look when I complete it, but I have another 3 weeks to continue practicing them 🙂

  4. First, that bobble blanket is a treat and so special. Second, I love your granny square! ( I am kind of on a bird kick right now). Your swap sounds like fun–I am doing my first swap this summer, a dish cloth one.
    Have a super week–
    *smiles and cheers*

    • Thanks!! I will post pics of the square after some more practice on it.
      Enjoy your swap, I find that they are very exciting as you are assigned your partner, and then you learn about them, trying to find just the right colours and material to use 😀

  5. Good luck on your swap..I tried to make a bobble blanket, it looked nothing like yours and I frogged it.. I’m much better at squares right now!

    • Thank you. If you have any tips for squares, please share. I tried one, and it turned out all crooked with too many stitches in some places and not enough in another :S

  6. You’ll be surprised how quickly you get the hang of granny squares, I promise. Love the hook holder and the blanket is adorable!

    • haha, I will hold you to it. I made three yesterday, and while the basic squares become quick and easy to do, once I started in one the more difficult squares, my square got all crooked and I almost frogged it. I decided against it. I wanted to keep it to see if I make any progress as I continue 🙂

Leave a Reply

