Learning How to be Late

I don’t know when or how it started, but I like to be early. In high school I would arrive half an hour before the bell, although I think partially that had to do with the hopes of running into my crush.

This habit continued into adulthood, and got worse once I had children. I am no longer half an early to events, but I do not know how to be late. When someone tells me that an event begins at 11,ย  my brain registers 1045 and then I allot another 15-20 minutes driving time, even though it usually only take 10 minutes to get anywhere in town. I also allot some extra time for the inevitable fights parents seem to have walking out the door.

“I don’t want to wear this dress”

“I’m hungry, can I get a yogurt to eat on the way?”

“Where are my tinkerbell shoes? I don’t want to wear my Dora shoes”

“Oh Hai Princess!” as the cat is then chased around the house.

And then, when I have to make various stops before arriving at my destination, I always seem to overshoot my time. I must be at my babysitters house half an hour before the event, so I have to leave 20 minutes prior to the arrival time. Making me about 20 minutes early for the event time.

I realized, that something probably has to change when I walked in to the restaurant for my birthday dinner almost half an hour earlier than I told everyone else to be there.ย  I need to rewire my brain to stop changing the times in my head.

It has been known for me to become stressful as I am ushering kids out the door to arrive at a place 15 minutes early. I keep forgetting that the reason I aim for early is so that I have a buffer for the unexpected things that pop up.

Although it does feel fabulous to walk into an appointment you thought you thought you were going to be late to and realize that you are still five minutes early. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Learning How to be Late

  1. I need to learn to be early! I’m 10 minutes late for everything! Not a minute more or a minute less. Unless it’s something really important… Then I arrive an hour early. A full hour. It’s ridiculous. I need to find a middle ground. How do you do it?!

    • Depending on what it is, my brain registers something 15-30 minutes early. So if I’m told that I need to be at a birthday party or an appointment at 5, my brain automatically registers “4:45” then I work backwords from there. In order to be somewhere at 445, I will need to leave the house at 430. If I am going somewhere with children, I add a few extra minutes for the inevitables. If I need to stop at the babysitters place, I add 20 (depending on where in the city is located vs where the event is) Then the other variables such as rush hour. Living in a small city, I only have to add another 5 minutes for that.
      Its really quite scary how my brain works when it comes to planning, even planning something as simple as a time to leave the house ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

