Weight Loss

At the beginning of this year I reached a weight that I was embarrassed about. Since having kids, I have not been happy with my weight, but I know that my body will never return to what it was. I was still a child myself when my body underwent some drastic changes.

So in February of this year I began tracking what I ate and then I made small changes. Within a few weeks I was eating better than I ever had, I was drinking my 8-10 glasses of water a day, and I was working out an insane amount. I would workout each morning doing a 30 min high intensity circuit training, I would then do situps, and then I would do a 10 min abdominal workout. Breakfasts included smoothies and I had a salad each and every day for lunch. I would walk daily with Baby and 2-3x a week I would take my lunch hour and walk briskly around the lake. I lost 15 lbs in about 3 months. I was only 10 lbs away from my goal weight.

Then I lost my job. My routine went right out the window. And I tried, I really did try to continue working out every day and making healthy choices. And for a time, I stayed on top of things, but I have to admit I was quite upset, even though I never showed it. And having Baby around didn’t help matters. I could no longer walk  around the lake, and working out proved difficult as she wanted to join in with me. Slowly, my healthy eating habits flew right out the window and before I knew it, I was right back to where I started. Actually, I’m still 2.8 lbs less from where I started, but its still disheartening.

So now, with school right on the horizon, there is hope in the air. I’m getting back into it! I might be setting myself up for failure as I am jumping in before getting my feet wet and I know from experience that doing it that way never works out. The only reason I had success this last time was I started slow. Making healthier eating choices, and working out slowly until I was ready to go daily. But I know what I am capable of now. I know what excerices I enjoy and which ones I don’t.

So here are my goals:

Coffee is out, cold turkey.

Water 8-10 8oz glasses a day.

Fast food, candy, and anything with transfat is out

Running 30 min a day 3-6x a week (or at least a combination of running/walking)

Situps I want to be able to do 50. I’ll start from 10

10 minutes ab workout

and I am debating on throwing in my 30 minute workout video as well.

I know I can do this, as Baby and Kid are not here; when they come home they will both be in Vacation Bible School freeing up a couple hours for my workout. When school starts, Baby will be in daycare, also freeing up some time. Its time to get my routine back in place! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss

  1. Oh my gosh, if all that is starting slowly then you must be a machine once you get into it! I’m also looking to up my exercise but i’m really struggling at the moment. HOW do you make yourself actually do all of that? do you bribe yourself? use threats? and please tell me, does the torturous running EVER get easier?

    • I just do it. I tell myself that I will feel better afterwards. Then I try to prove myself wrong :p
      But to be honest, after the week that I had I had to stop working out for a bit. I intend to pick it back up this week.
      As for the running, it does get easier. I only ran three times last week and I already felt my endurance increase. I run for 60 seconds and walk for 90 8x with a 5 min warm up and cool down that takes me about 30 minutes. I hope soon I will be able to amp up the running time by 30 seconds 😀

Leave a Reply

