Today, I have a brat…

She is normally a good child, but Baby woke up with a hate on for the world. She started this morning by yelling NO at everything I asked her to do. She took her mood out on her brother and in the short five minute drive to Bible School she called him rude, mean and every other name she could think of. Which, at 4 isn’t much thankfully.
She refused to go to Bible School and followed me into the kitchen. She was pouty and whiny. My crew leader stepped in and took her back for me. Then a mere hour later her Pilot (team leader) brought her to me to notify me she had been rough with some children.
I was so exasperate, because I KNOW her potential. I asked my crew leader for some guidance. She is a kindergarten teacher and the mothr of two boys. I figured if anyone would be able to advise on the best course of action for a whiny brat, t’would be her.
Unfortunately, all she could tell me was to keep doing what I was doing. Keep loving her. Be patient. Then she told me that she thinks I’m doing an amazing job.
As a single mom, I have more challenges than dual parent families. Its tougher. And given my own upbringing (which isn’t public knowledge) I would have to say that yes, I am doing a wonderful job. There will be good days. And there will be bad days. There will be days where my heart swells with pride. There will be days I want to bang my head againt  wall. A brick wall.
Today just happens to be a bad day. So, there is nothing I can relly do except say a litter prayer. Of thanks.
Thank you, God, for providing me two wonderful children. And thank you for allowing one to be a brat. It makes me truly appreciate the good days. Which, thankfully I have more of than the bad days. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

