6. The Woods – Harlan Coben

Wow. Just… wow.

I love picking up a book reading only 3 pages into it and NOT being able to put it down. THIS is one of those books. It was a book that I came across in a friends house and walked out with. I started reading it and wasn’t able to put it down. Twice I fell asleep with it in my hands. I would read it during meal times, and every chance I could.

Coben does a wonderful job of taking his intricate plot and weaving the different elements together. It kept me guessing right up until the last page. It did not have one of those “messy” type endings. You know the type, you get to the end of the book, and the main plot has a conclusion but one of the sub, plots seemed to have been forgotten about, so instead of leaving the reader hanging the author just kind of throws in a conclusion that doesn’t REALLY make sense. I hate those endings.

It also wasn’t the type of book that tried to keep the subplots to a minimum in attempt to avoid such an ending. It definitely wasn’t a simplistic book. Not to knock those types of books; most romance are a one-plot story. They are just as entertaining. THIS however wasn’t just entertainment. It wasn’t just words on a page. It wasn’t just a story. It was art, and Coben the artist. Each press of the keyboard another perfectly positioned brushstroke in just the right colour. I was stunned by the beauty of his words and the story that it wove, and the manner in which it was done. There is nothing more I can say about this book besides it is art in its purest form. And I am not usually one for thrillers or suspense in a book. Would I recommend this book? Hell Yes, I would. In fact I have shoved it under Boyfriends nose trying to force him to read it. (And he will… but I like to buy presents, and since he is also a reader, books happen to be my default present. So he has about 3, and no time to read any of them 😛 )

Go get this book. You will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

