Start of an Adventure – Part II

About a month ago, I wrote about my newest adventure I was about to embark on. I had done the search and made the contact and I was beginning to attend a book club. I was very excited to meet new people, and follow one of my passions of reading. I also used this blog as an outlet for my thoughts on the book that was chosen.

And then that was it. I never mentioned my book club again. This is why. We set a date to meet two weeks later to continue discussing the book. (Which, to my dismay, was Fifty Shades of Grey) When that date came about, I had to reschedule. I don’t even remember why, but I know it was a good reason. Very likely, due to a scheduling conflict with my very busy volunteer schedule I carried last month.

So we made a second date, and something happened that NEVER happens to me.

I forgot.

I am what Boyfriend calls Mistress Planner. Everything goes into my daytimer. I check it 3-4x a day. I look at least 3-7 days in advance, just so I am aware of what is happening throughout the week. I am able to juggle many many plans this way. I am able to juggle not only my social engagements, but I watch Kids and Babys activities, combined with work or school, and able to plan healthy and appropriate meals in the sometimes tight window of time I have been given that particular day. Meals, activities, classes, social engagements, reminders, appointments. I jot them all done. So for me to forget about something is a rare occurrence.

Whats worse is, I didn’t remember! Usually, I will be about my day-to-day life and I will remember and the thought is like a tonne of bricks hitting me in the gut. This time, I didn’t even think about it until I picked up my  phone, checked my email, and noticed an email from the other member. Cancelling. (So me forgetting is our little secret. Shhhh!)

We did not book another time to meet. I waited for her to contact me again. She didn’t. Due to the reason she provided, I didn’t want to bother her with something trivial such as a book club. So I wait, I did. Until finally it was apparent that it wasn’t going to happen.

So I embarked on ANOTHER adventure. Book Club 2.0! 🙂 Instead of waiting to see if anyone would be in contact with me, I figured I would take charge, as is my tendency. I posted an ad explaining my desire to start a book club and have waited for the response. So far, I have had three people interested, and I intend to wait another week and a half to see if there is more interest. Once that is complete, I will arrange or host a meet and greet for the members to get to know each other, and then we will decide on our first book at that time. Being Mistress Planner has its advantages. I’m (usually) highly organized, so hosting a book club once a month or bi-weekly, should be an easily surmountable obstacle 🙂

Very excited to see what kind of people I meet with this go-around 🙂

One thought on “Start of an Adventure – Part II

  1. Pingback: Woooah Girl! | Life Undiscovered

Leave a Reply

