Self Portraits on the Wall

Not even 24 hours as being officially done as a student (for a two week leave, that is) and I am FULLY engrossed into my primary role of Mom. I never realized JUST how dirty my house really got! I mean, I know that I have slacked a little here and there, but I have seriously just spent the past hour cleaning a kitchen that was previously cleaned this morning by ever-loving Fiance.

(As much as I love the man, he definitely doesn’t clean to my standards. Although. I doubt ANYone can clean to my standards.)

As I am cleaning, I realize that Baby has gotten into her crayons. And written over ALL the walls.

I had known this of course. I even made her scrub for awhile trying to get it off. It was to no avail, of course. Mere soap and water barely made a dent in it. But since I didn’t want to deal with it at that particular moment, likely due to the fact that I had a paper coming due, I put on my myopic glasses and went about my days. Finally, 2 months later, I have decided its time to tackle it. I no longer have an excuse.

The only thing that I have found that works is Baking Soda, and I spend the next hour scrubbing walls in my front hall, my kitchen, the hallway outside of her bedroom, her bedroom, even the bathroom! I chant to myself over and over as I scrub so hard the paint starts to chip “I love my children, I love my children.”

I take a short break to comment on the portraits on my wall, and some of them were very well done. A woman holding a baby, even her name in some areas. But now, it seems that I have to get back to work. I have decided that a week of relaxing doesn’t jive for me, so now I have a dinner party to get ready for

Leave a Reply

