Safe Haven – Nicholas Sparks

I know! I am horrible at reading! I have a good excuse though! School took SO much out of me the past 8 months

My fiance and I rarely get a chance to go out on a “real” date, but he would like to take me out to see Nicholas Sparks’ newest book-turned- movie Safe Haven. Since I have a rule that I must read the book before I See the movie I figured this past weekend would be a great time to get a head start on the book. Fiance was out of town and this weekend was the first weekend of the end of the semester ie: NO HOMEWORK!

Well, I picked up the book and began reading it. I finished it less than 24 hours later. It was so brilliantly crafted. It was typical Sparks book, with love, loss, romance, about a woman who is running from her past. However, in order to fully move on  with her life she has to come to grips with her chilling past and finally put it to rest.

Sparks, as always, does a wonderful job of allowing his readers to get inside the characters head, and what I really enjoyed this time, was he wrote a portion of the book of from the antagonists PoV, in an attempt to shed some light on the inner workings of his mind.

As always, I cried. I couldn’t put the book down, especially near the end when Katie’s past finally catches up to her. I saw character development, I saw resolution. I cheered for her!

Although, Sparks did try something new with a rather fantastical ending. I wasn’t sure what I thought about it. It was nice to be able to see him do something new, but at the same time, I pick up a Sparks book because its Safe, and I know what to expect. The ending caught me off guard and I, while reading, was disappointed.

Either way though, I am quite excited to see how the movie compares and contrasts to the book. Be sure to Check it out my blog Random Movie Night for a special review.

Also, coming up, another review on an older Sparks book. I cannot reveal the title however, as the Fiance and I play a Random Movie Trivia game and I don’t want to give the answer too soon!

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

