Mom Has Taken a Vacation

Its my fault, really. I shouldn’t have left it for so long. I shouldn’t have let the kids have the run of the basement.

But out of sight, out of mind, right?

I rarely went down there, and when I did it was only to do laundry so I never had to venture further from the bottom of the stairs. I don’t know how long I let it go for. I was so busy with my courses and homework and studying and trying to maintain the dishes, and the vacuuming and the laundry, and the bathroom, and.. and… and… The list goes on and on and on.

I trust my seven and five year old when they said that it was clean. I trusted my son when he told me that the litter box was empty and had litter in it. That was mistake #2. I KNEW I should have inspected. When did I stop inspecting!? But I took their word for it, and threw my nose back into the textbook.

One hour I spent down there. One whole hour, and I threw EVERYTHING out. I didn’t even look to see if it was toys, books, garbage, recycling. With each passing moment I grew more and more agitated. More and more frustrated. With each filled garbage bag I grew more disgusted. How could I have let this slide for SO long?

Cleaning the basment had been on my to-do list for days, possibly even weeks. It was not until I realized that I have a total of four days before I go back to school that I actually decided to get off my ass and do it. And I feel better for it. I really do. Its done. One less thing to cross of my to-do list, and to make the day just that much better, I came upstairs to find my husband awake and doing the dishes… WITHOUT BEING ASKED!

Its not that often that he will actually take initiative and do something without being asked. With that being said however, I also do not have to nag. He does it the first time I ask, but I do have to ask. So it was nice to see. 🙂

Now however, I should probably go find my kidlets and apologize. They walked in from playing outside and since I was so agitated, I grounded them from the basement, the tv, the video games, AND outside…. I may have overreacted just a teensy bit.

Leave a Reply

