Never Again

We have all said it. After a night of excessive drinking, we wake up the next morning declaring that we will never drink again.

I don’t drink often. I think last night was the first time I drank in excess all year long, probably longer. I enjoy a drink or two while I’m out with friend, but more often than not  I will get a virgin. I have never been one to enjoy the feeling of not being 100% in control. And I have to admit, hearing others’ “drunken” stories is kind of a turn off. I am not impressed with the stupid things that are said or done, or the lack of ability to remember the next day.

But last night… I don’t even know what happened. My neighbour and I decided to have a community barbeque, and during this time I had one of her infamous “blue drinks.” (rasperry rum, blue curaco and lemondae)

I swore I was just going to have one, just to see what all the fuss was about. But then one turned into two, turned into 3. Then Hubby, who never socializes came over with a six-pack of beer (a drink or two seems to help control his agoraphobia.) And being the sweet guy that he is decided to bring me a pack of coolers.

The next thing I knew it was 6 hours later and I was feeling pretty loopy. Husband had gone home to put the kids to bed and get ready for work. I think that was one time that he was glad he worked. It was the perfect excuse to leave a gathering and NOT look anti-social. After he had left for work my neighbour had sent her eldest daughter to watch my sleeping children so I could continue the party, which by this point had dwindled down to three.

Finally I ended up stumbling the three blocks home, crawling into bed. My tummy was rebelling against me, and all I wanted to do was sleep. I was fearful of how I would feel this morning, and I have to admit, that I feel pretty decent. I was up at the normal hour I usually am up at, which to normal people is god-awful to begin with (around 7am) and while I did stay in bed, I didn’t have the infamous hangover headache.

But, I am making the declaration. Never again. I had a blast with my friends, and I laughed a lot, but I think that I probably would have had a better time had I stopped at the one, or had just decided not to drink at all.

One thought on “Never Again

Leave a Reply

