Lacking Inspiration

I sit here, in front of the computer screen with my writing prompt in front of me. Today (technically yesterday), I am to write about A Never-Ending Breakup for my daily challenge on 642 Things to Write About.

Usually, the open-ended prompts I can rock. I sit down to begin typing, and the next thing I know, I have a pretty decent fiction story staring at me.

For that past couple days, however I do not know what it is that is preventing me from writing. Could be a number of things. First of all, I can’t seem to function if my house is in disarray, and while I have some semblance of order, it’s not where I would like it. Not yet anyway.

Secondly, it could be extreme fatigue. Walking up to 8.5 kilometres a day, as well as biking on a regular basis seems to take a toll on my energy.

Thirdly, I have a Mogwai (Baby’s nickname) bothering me. Two days ago she went to a friend’s house without permission and I was left searching for her for half an hour. That is a post in and of itself, cuz let me tell you, I did not feel like the best parent. So, as punishment, she has been grounded for 3 days. I knew one day wouldn’t cut it, and I think I would have gone insane had she been grounded for the whole weekend. Since the warm weather, she hasn’t spent more than a few hours a day in the house, so having her cooped up for more than three days would be hell for both of us. We are half way through day 2.

For anyone with kids, you know how damn near impossible it is to do anything that require concentration with them hanging around.

So here I am, sitting at the computer wondering whether to write a non fiction piece about purging one of the most toxic boyfriends I had, or a fiction piece that would seem like nothing more than a rip-off of The Breakup. I have begun typing, deleted it, and begun typing again. I have gotten distracted with Facebook, Ravelry, reading other blogs here. I have tried putting on some music and that is just more distracting.

This writers block seems to be a large, impenetrable, thick stone with no way around it. Sometimes I wish inspiration would hit, the way it did my husband when he managed to quickly write a poem in less than five minutes.

What suggestions do you have? What do you do when you can’t find the inspiration that you so desperately need?

2 thoughts on “Lacking Inspiration

  1. I think everyone who writes; especially blogger, go through this a lot. I feel it is best to just speak from the heart and really write how you feel. This post was honest and great. I’d rather have this then you forcing yourself to write something you aren’t happy with. Great post and keep up the blogging.

Leave a Reply

