The Mistake that Keeps on Giving – Part 1

I could slam my head against a brick wall! and chances are, it wouldn’t really do anything. I would still be more frustrated at myself than in pain from my the wall.

We have all heard it: Learn from your mistakes. Grow from them. Blah blah blah.

And did I ever make the biggest mistake of my life, one that keeps coming back to kick me in the a$$.

It all started one spring morning. I had gone to work, and it was a GOOD job. It paid the bills, and allowed me to provide the little things to my children. I was able to go shopping, and my kids were always kept in good, clean, clothes that fit. I had snacks in the house, and was able to purchase the new movies, and go swimming. Those little things that the children loved. And best of all: NO MAN! Something that I was raised to believe was unattainable.

Then, the worst happened. My world came shattering down around me. Through no fault of my own, I lost my job. I was faced with a number of choices. Do I begin the excruciating task of searching for another JOB. Do I take this opportunity to go back to school to find my dream CAREER? Do I take the summer off to spend time with my kids?

The decision, looking back now, was a no-brainer. I take the pay-cut and spend the summer building and establishing memories with my kids. Picnics in the park, late night cuddles and movies. Then, at the end of the summer, I would go back to school to finally obtain my dream of getting a psych degree. So I filled out the forms and applied for Employment Insurance.

There was just one teensy little thing that I failed to do earlier that year. I neglected to do my taxes for that year. As a single mother that had been carrying about 5 years of post-secondary tuition credits, I knew that I was due to come in to a nice chunk of change when I finally got it done. I also knew that the money would be going to some a lot of parking tickets I had allowed to accumulate. The only problem I foresaw was that if I did my taxes, the government would deem that as “income” and therefore my EI would take a hit.

Solution: wait until the end of the summer to do my taxes!

Reality: Bad solution. We will get to that in a second.

Later, that summer I misplaced my license. When it did not turn up right away, I went to get it replaced. I was told that due to the excess in fines, they were unable to reissue me a replacement license, but that I COULD get an ID card.
Good enough, right?

WRONG!! Oh. So. Very. Wrong.

Well, here is where my two mistakes converge into one huge mess. As I am driving along, minding my own business, I see the dreaded red and blue lights in my rearview mirror. Cue expletive. I didn’t pay off my fines, which means I didn’t re-register my car. I got dinged with a lack of registration ticket. When I was told that I couldn’t have my license reissued, what that REALLY meant was that my license has being suspended. I got dinged with a lack of license ticket (kicker on this one: I had since found my license on my bedroom end table. I just failed to put it back in my car). AAAAND since the police officer was ALREADY having a bad day, and had since labeled me a deviant who was lying about not being aware of the lack of license he failed to adequately check the expiry date on my pink slip. I got dinged with a lack of insurance ticket; mandatory court appearance; and my car was towed. Cue not only a string of expletives but also a panic attack.

Joy of all joys. My story does not end there however. We will continue with this important life lesson tomorrow.

One thought on “The Mistake that Keeps on Giving – Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Mistake that Keeps on Giving – Part 2 | Life Undiscovered

Leave a Reply

