Anxiety-Free

The other day, I had the talk with Baby. She saw me crying and wanted to know why I was sad.

I had been dealing with the possibility of her ADHD diagnosis for about a month now, and keeping all the information between my husband and I. I didn’t want to jump the gun and declare she had ADHD until we had a formal diagnosis. But after her suspension, I knew that I couldn’t keep it from her anymore. I was only doing my daughter disservice by withholding the information from her.

So I sat her down and told that I was sad because she had what was known as ADHD, or Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. I explained to her that it was a disorder that affects the pre-frontal cortex of the brain. I then took my Neuro-Science textbook out and showed her where the prefrontal cortex was.

I told her that the prefrontal cortex is in charge of the executive functioning of the brain. It is the part of the brain that makes decisions, and when it’s not developing properly, it means that this part of your brain is turned off. I told her that it makes it difficult, but not impossible, to make good choices.

The reason I was sad, however, was because that it has gotten to the point that she might need medication to stimulate her brain to start developing. I told her that the medication will turn “on” button to her brain, so that it is easier to make good decisions.

She accepted this, and accepted the medication. I didn’t think of this conversation again until we were driving to Walmart and I took a wrong turn.

Baby: Mommy? Why are you going this way?

Mama: Well, clearly, I don’t know where I am going.

I turn my car around and get on the correct road. I get to the turn that I was originally supposed to turn on.

Baby: THIS is where you are supposed to turn, Mommy.

Mama: How is that you know the way to Walmart better than your Mama?

Baby: /Sigh! Its cuz my brain got turned on. Y’know. From the medicine this morning?
Yup… I think we will be JUST fine.

One thought on “Anxiety-Free

Leave a Reply

