Can We All Just Take a Moment…

… as I am hit a train of revelation.

It was about ten years ago as I was graduating from high school that I decided I was going to University to get my degree in Psychology. Granted, I had grandiose goals of going on to get my Ph.D. in Pysch as well (a dream I have since laid to rest only because I realized that I only wanted it for the bragging rights; a Ph.D. wouldn’t have helped me obtain my TRUE goal)

Ten years, 2 kids, 1 dropout, 2 diplomas, and 2 marriages later I am witness to the birth of a dream.

Y’see, I decided that University was just too scary for me at 17 years of age. So I decided to take the safe route and get some courses at the college first by obtaining my General Studies diploma. Then, using some transfer credits I would apply to the U when I was 18.  (This also allowed me to go back to High school to complete my Math 30. I chose to graduate without it just so that I could graduate in my Grade 11 year instead of my Grade 12 year) I managed to fit a 2 year  G.S. diploma into 1.5 years.

But, instead of actually following through with my plan, I decided to stay at the college because it was safer. I went into Child and Youth Care. Alas, that didn’t work out as I got married, had a kid, and dropped out to be a stay at home mom. Truth be told, I dropped out because I was only weeks away from my practicum and that also scared me.

Flashfoward 2 years, I am pregnant with my second child and realized that I am no longer in love with my husband. With only a high school diploma and a G.S. Diploma (what I can do with THAT?) what was a girl to do? I decided to go back to school so that I could find a job that would support me and my children as I prepared to leave my husband.

And I did. Support my children. We had some rough times. We had some good times. I obtained my Office Admin diploma and ended up working in a Jr. High school for a time, and then moved on to become a Legal Assistant. I had grown up. I was finally an adult.

But still. Something was missing. I wasn’t reaching my full potential. I wasn’t helping people. I wasn’t inspiring people. So back to school I went.

In the two years that I have been a student, I have gone from being a Psych Major, to a Psych/Religious Studies major, to transferring into Addictions Counselling, and then back into Psychology. Partway through I decided I wanted to be a Social Worker (I didn’t get in) and I lost sight of the fact that I was still on a path that I had laid 10 years prior. \

Now, the gestation period is over. The labour pains have begun. I am merely 16 days away from completely my LAST. CLASS. EVER! In my Psychology degree.

…now I just have to get off the internet and back to doing my term paper, or I’ll NEVER pass.

Leave a Reply

