Hocus Pocus

I am all about finding alternate ways of dealing with Baby’s ADHD. As I have noted before, I am not a fan of medication, although I know the benefits.
I want Baby to be able to deal with her ADHD without them though, and this summer has been about finding different ways of teaching her life skills.

One of her more aggravating symptoms is her inability to focus on any one thing for longer then 15 seconds.
“Baby, go get your shoes on.”
“Ok, Mama, I will… KITTEN!”

She gets distracted by rocks, shiny roofs, a moving piece of speck in the sunlight. She is the epitome of ADHD and on my good days it does give me a chuckle. The other day as I reminded her again for eleventh time to stay focused on her task, she began chanting to herself, as she is wont to do. “Focus, hocus, pocus”

It was like a lightbulb went off on my brain! Now, instead of getting frustrated with her for getting off task, I merely say “Hocus Pocus” and she will stop with whatever is distracting her and say Focus as she gets back to the task at hand.

I feel like a genius!

7 thoughts on “Hocus Pocus

    • Haha yes it is… Although the only thing you can count on when living with an ADHD child (or any child for that matter… ) is that they are unpredictable. I’m sure I will wake up one morning and this trick will not work. Those are the days I loom forward to bedtime, just so I can see if tomorrow will be any better.

  1. I just want to say that I strongly relate to your desire to avoid medication, and I did, too. I felt like we really hit the jackpot when our doctor prescribed medication short-term, as a catalyst. I appreciated him sayin that. In the meantime, I literally took every suggestion from my educational background, from every book on the subject, and from other parents who had success with techniques — and applied all these things to our lives. They worked.
    I cannot say my son is cured, (Would I even want him to be?) but he is now a highly-functioning adult, finishing up with his bachelor’s. Most of his progress happened during the time he was on medication (less than a year.) I just want you to know that there are many parents who feel the same, and there are plenty of non-pharmaceutical options for treatment, but if you ever feel like you’ve exhausted them, please don’t feel guilty to take the “easy” route.
    Hocus Pocus on!

    • Thanks for sharing!
      The medication has been a godsend to help Baby in grade 1. But I feel it was short term… Almost an emergency fix. She had gone thru three teachers and did not have a full time EA to help her. Going into grade 2 she is going to have structure with consistent teachers and Assistant. She has the support in place and I am optimistic to the next school year! 🙂
      And as you said, do we want them tobe “cured”? I think she is a very creative child who will be very successful with proper symptom management 🙂

  2. How long did you have to wait to see a physiologist? I am only asking since I have been waiting for quite sometime now, and it seems to be taking forever.

    • Ha. Well Since I have my psychology education behind. Even and a ton of Advocates backing me (school psychologist did a # of assessments) my daughter was diagnosed and medicated months before actually seeing a psychiatrist.
      Depending on where you live, it does take a really long time. I am in Canada, and I hear Americans are jealous of our health care system and it still took me over 4 months

Leave a Reply

